Susquehanna
Named in 17 PJM planning documents for 12 projects, from November 6, 2024 to October 6, 2026.
PJM interconnection queue
A PJM queue substation page has the same name: Susquehanna (PA) — 13 queue requests filed, 4 active.
Same name and state (weaker). Matched on name and state: the utility that presented this substation operates in one state, and every queue filing at a substation of the same name is in that state. No transmission owner is recorded on those filings, so this is a weaker match than one on owner. Not verified as the same facility.
Projects naming this substation
Figures are from the most recent document naming each project, as printed. Each links to its page.
| Project | Status as printed | Cost estimate | In-service date | Customer load | As of |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PPL Transmission Zone: Baseline MAAC PPL Cluster b4029.1 |
Not printed | $565.4M | 6/1/2030 | Not printed | 2025-12-08 TEAC |
| PPL Cluster B4029.18 |
Not printed | $7.39M | Not printed | Not printed | 2026-05-08 TEAC |
| Harwood, PA PPL-2024-0003 |
Conceptual | $195.55 M | 06/01/2027 | 1,980 MW | 2026-10-06 TEAC |
| Harwood, PA PPL-2024-0012 · s3549 |
Conceptual | $73.3 M | 05/30/2028 | 1,000 MW | 2025-10-08 TEAC |
| Susquehanna, PA PPL-2025-0003 · s3706 |
Not printed | $19.4 M | 05/30/2028 | 1,440 MW | 2025-10-08 TEAC |
| Orefield, PA PPL-2025-0006 |
Conceptual | $194 M | 05/31/2028 | 1000 MW | 2026-10-06 TEAC |
| PPL Transmission Zone: Supplemental PPL-2025-0010 · S3818 |
Conceptual | $88.5M | 5/30/2027 | 1000 MW | 2026-05-08 TEAC |
| Beach Haven, PA PPL-2026-0003 |
Conceptual | $81.2 M | 05/30/2028 | 1,500 MW | 2026-05-08 TEAC |
| Nescopeck, PA PPL-2026-0004 |
Conceptual | $130.6 M | 05/30/2029 | 1,350 MW | 2026-05-08 TEAC |
| Natalie 500-230kV Substation PPL-2026-0029 |
Conceptual | $408 M | 12/30/2029 | 2,000 MW | 2026-09-08 TEAC |
| PPL Transmission Zone: Baseline 2024-W1-935 |
Not printed | Not printed | 6/1/2029 | Not printed | 2024-11-06 TEAC |
| MAAC PPL Cluster 2025-W1-558 |
Not printed | $565.4M | 6/1/2030 | Not printed | 2025-11-04 TEAC |
Changes between documents
Where two documents print different values for the same project. A large change in a cost estimate can reflect a need being combined with others into one solution, not only a re-estimate; read both pages.
| What changed | Printed values | Earlier | Later |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cost estimate | $4.5 M → $7.39M | 2026-01-06 | 2026-05-08 |
| Cost estimate prior value printed on the same page |
$4.50M → $7.39M | 2026-05-08 | 2026-05-08 |
| Substations named | KELAYRES; SUSQUEHANNA → SUSQUEHANNA | 2026-01-06 | 2026-05-08 |
| Cost estimate | $196.55 M → $195.55 M | Not reported | Not reported |
| Cost estimate | $195.55 M → $196.55 M | 2026-10-06 | Not reported |
| Cost estimate | $197.55 M → $195.55 M | 2025-05-06 | 2026-10-06 |
| In-service date | 6/1/2026: S3528.1, S3528.6, & S3528.11 6/1/2027: S3528.2, S3528.3, S3528.4, S3528.5, S3528.7, S3528.8, S3528.9, S3528.10 → 06/01/2027 | Not reported | Not reported |
| In-service date | 06/01/2027 → 6/1/2026: S3528.1, S3528.6, & S3528.11 6/1/2027: S3528.2, S3528.3, S3528.4, S3528.5, S3528.7, S3528.8, S3528.9, S3528.10 | 2026-10-06 | Not reported |
| Status | unknown (Development) → conceptual (Conceptual) | 2025-05-06 | 2026-10-06 |
| Substations named | GLEN BROOK; HARWOOD; NESCOPECK; SUNBURY; SUSQUEHANNA; SUSQUEHANNA T10; TOMHICKEN → HARWOOD; NESCOPECK; SUNBURY; SUSQUEHANNA; TOMHICKEN | Not reported | Not reported |
| Substations named | HARWOOD; NESCOPECK; SUNBURY; SUSQUEHANNA; TOMHICKEN → GLEN BROOK; HARWOOD; NESCOPECK; SUNBURY; SUSQUEHANNA; SUSQUEHANNA T10; TOMHICKEN | 2026-10-06 | Not reported |
| Substations named | GLEN BROOK; HARWOOD; NESCOPECK; SUNBURY; SUSQUEHANNA; SUSQUEHANNA T10; TOMHICKEN → HARWOOD; NESCOPECK; SUNBURY; SUSQUEHANNA; TOMHICKEN | 2025-05-06 | 2026-10-06 |
| In-service date | 05/2027 → 05/30/2028 | 2024-10-08 | 2024-11-06 |
| In-service date | 04/2026 → 05/30/2028 | 2025-04-01 | 2025-05-06 |
| Cost estimate | $159 M → $194 M | 2025-06-05 | 2025-11-04 |
| In-service date | 10/2026 → 05/30/2028 | 2025-05-06 | 2025-06-05 |
| In-service date | 05/30/2028 → 05/31/2028 | 2025-06-05 | 2025-11-04 |
| Substations named | ALBURTIS; ALLENTOWN; OREFIELD; SIEGFRIED; SUSQUEHANNA; WESCOSVILLE → ALLENTOWN; OREFIELD; SIEGFRIED; SUSQUEHANNA; WESCOSVILLE | 2025-11-04 | 2026-10-06 |
| Cost estimate | $95 M → $88.5M | 2025-09-09 | 2026-05-08 |
| Cost estimate prior value printed on the same page |
$95M → $88.5M | 2026-05-08 | 2026-05-08 |
| In-service date | 05/2027 → 05/30/2028 | 2025-05-06 | 2025-09-09 |
| In-service date | 05/30/2028 → 5/30/2027 | 2025-09-09 | 2026-05-08 |
| In-service date | 5/2028 → 05/30/2028 | 2026-03-10 | 2026-05-08 |
| In-service date | 10/2028 → 05/30/2029 | 2026-03-10 | 2026-05-08 |
| In-service date | 06/2028 → 12/30/2029 | 2026-04-07 | 2026-09-08 |
Every mention
| Date | Document | Project | What the document says about it |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-06 | TEAC Informational Only - PPL Local Plan Submission of the Supplemental Projects for 2026 p. 13 |
Harwood, PA | “Expand yard, extend busses, and install two new bays at Susquehanna 230kV yard” 230kV |
| 2026-10-06 | TEAC Informational Only - PPL Local Plan Submission of the Supplemental Projects for 2026 p. 17 |
Orefield, PA | No role wording |
| 2026-09-17* | SRRTEP Mid-Atlantic PPL local plan submission for 2026 RTEP p. 13 |
Harwood, PA | “Expand yard, extend busses, and install two new bays at Susquehanna
230kV yard” 230kV |
| 2026-09-17* | SRRTEP Mid-Atlantic PPL local plan submission for 2026 RTEP p. 17 |
Orefield, PA | No role wording 500kV |
| 2026-09-08 | TEAC Item 07 - PPL Supplemental Projects p. 5 |
Natalie 500-230kV Substation | No role wording 500kV |
| 2026-09-08* | SRRTEP Mid-Atlantic PPL local plan submission for 2024 RTEP p. 31 |
Harwood, PA | “Install a new line terminal at Susquehanna 230kV yard” 230kV |
| 2026-09-08* | SRRTEP Mid-Atlantic PPL local plan submission for 2025 RTEP p. 33 |
Susquehanna, PA | “Install one new 230kV breaker, 230kV dead-end, and ancillary equipment in Bay 0 at Susquehanna 230kV” 230kV |
| 2026-09-08* | SRRTEP Mid-Atlantic PPL local plan submission for 2025 RTEP p. 7 |
Harwood, PA | “Install 15 ohm series reactors on the Susquehanna - Harwood #1 and #2 230kV line at Susquehanna 230kV switchyard.” 230kV |
| 2026-05-08 | TEAC Item 06 - PPL Supplemental Projects p. 12 |
Beach Haven, PA | “Terminate the 230kV T22 lead line into the new Beach Haven 230kV switchyard” 500-230kV |
| 2026-05-08 | TEAC Item 06 - PPL Supplemental Projects p. 14 |
Nescopeck, PA | “Bifurcate Sunbury - Susquehanna 500kV line into the new Nescopeck 500kV yard” 500kV |
| 2026-05-08 | TEAC Item 06 - PPL Supplemental Projects p. 4 |
PPL Transmission Zone: Supplemental | “from Susquehanna 230kV switchyard to the Tomhicken 230kV switchyard” 230kV |
| 2026-05-08 | TEAC Item 10 - Reliability Analysis Update p. 13 |
PPL Cluster | “Replace the six 230KV breakers at Susquehanna” 230KV |
| 2026-01-06 | TEAC Item 09 - Reliability Analysis Update p. 17 |
PPL Cluster | “Replace the six 230KV breakers (2W T21, 4E PALO1, 5E MOUN, 2T T21 PALO, 4T GLBR PALO, CAP2) at Susquehanna” 230KV |
| 2025-12-08 | TEAC Item 11 - Reliability Analysis Update p. 28 |
PPL Transmission Zone: Baseline MAAC PPL Cluster | No role wording 230 kV |
| 2025-11-04 | TEAC Item 08 - PPL Supplemental Projects p. 4 |
Orefield, PA | No role wording 500kV |
| 2025-11-04 | TEAC Item 14 - Reliability Analysis Update p. 54 |
MAAC PPL Cluster | No role wording 230 kV |
| 2025-10-08 | TEAC Informational Only - PPL Local Plan Submission of the Supplemental Projects for 2025 p. 33 |
Susquehanna, PA | “Install one new 230kV breaker, 230kV dead-end, and ancillary equipment in Bay 0 at Susquehanna 230kV” 230kV |
| 2025-10-08 | TEAC Informational Only - PPL Local Plan Submission of the Supplemental Projects for 2025 p. 7 |
Harwood, PA | “Install 15 ohm series reactors on the Susquehanna - Harwood #1 and #2 230kV line at Susquehanna 230kV switchyard” 230kV |
| 2025-09-09 | TEAC Item 09 - PPL Supplemental Projects p. 8 |
PPL Transmission Zone: Supplemental | “lines from Susquehanna 230kV switchyard” 230kV |
| 2025-06-05 | TEAC Item 05 - PPL Supplemental Projects p. 6 |
Orefield, PA | No role wording 500kV |
| 2025-05-06 | TEAC Item 07 - PPL Supplemental Projects p. 12 |
Harwood, PA | “Expand yard, extend busses and install two new bays at Susquehanna 230kV yard” 230kV |
| 2025-05-06 | TEAC Item 07 - PPL Supplemental Projects p. 16 |
Susquehanna, PA | “Install one new 230kV breaker, 230kV dead-end, and ancillary equipment in Bay 0 at Susquehanna 230kV” 230kV |
| 2024-11-06 | TEAC Item 13 - Reliability Analysis Update p. 50 |
PPL Transmission Zone: Baseline | No role wording 230 kV |
| 2024-11-06 | TEAC Item 08 - PPL Supplemental Projects p. 10 |
Harwood, PA | “Install 15 ohm series reactors on the Susquehanna - Harwood #1 and #2 230kV line at Susquehanna 230kV switchyard” 230kV |
* A local-plan posting carries no meeting date; the date shown is when pjm.com last modified the file.
Before relying on any of this
- Names are machine-extracted from PDFs by a language model. Every exported name was checked to be printed in the PDF text; names read only from maps or diagrams are excluded.
- An entry is a name within a transmission zone, not a verified physical facility. The same name in two zones is two entries; spelling variants are merged only when they differ by punctuation, case or a generic suffix such as "Substation".
- role is "new" only where a cited document phrase describes the substation as new or describes constructing it, "existing" where a phrase describes work at it, otherwise "unknown".
- Costs, dates, statuses and loads are the documents' own printed values for the most recent document that names the substation. Each one shipped here is printed on its cited page ("verification": "exact" or "on-page"); values that failed that check are withheld and counted in figures_withheld_unverified. None has been reviewed by a person.
- Zone is the transmission owner whose deck presented the project. PJM-SYSTEM marks names from PJM's own reliability decks, which span zones.
- A printed customer load is the amount a document states for a request. It says nothing about the substation's capability.