Sunbury
Named in 14 PJM planning documents for 11 projects, from November 14, 2024 to October 6, 2026.
PJM interconnection queue
A PJM queue substation page has the same name: Sunbury (PA) — 10 queue requests filed, 5 active.
Same name and transmission owner. Matched on name and transmission owner: the utility that presented this substation in PJM planning materials is the transmission owner recorded on the queue filings at a substation of the same name. Not verified as the same facility.
Projects naming this substation
Figures are from the most recent document naming each project, as printed. Each links to its page.
| Project | Status as printed | Cost estimate | In-service date | Customer load | As of |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PPL Transmission Zone: Baseline MAAC PPL Cluster b4029.1 |
Not printed | $565.4M | 6/1/2030 | Not printed | 2025-12-08 TEAC |
| Beavertown, PA PPL-2019-0003 · s3554.1 |
Conceptual | $33 M | 05/31/2028 | Not printed | 2025-10-08 TEAC |
| PPL-2023-0007 | Conceptual | $103M | 12/30/2028 | Not printed | 2026-09-08* SRRTEP Mid-Atlantic |
| Harwood, PA PPL-2024-0003 |
Conceptual | $195.55 M | 06/01/2027 | 1,980 MW | 2026-10-06 TEAC |
| Susquehanna, PA PPL-2025-0003 · s3706 |
Not printed | $19.4 M | 05/30/2028 | 1,440 MW | 2025-10-08 TEAC |
| Gordon, PA PPL-2025-0008 |
Conceptual | $231.65 M | 05/30/2028 | 600MW | 2026-10-06 TEAC |
| Mausdale, PA PPL-2025-0030 |
Engineering | $3.6 M | 03/30/2028 | Not printed | 2026-10-06 TEAC |
| Nescopeck, PA PPL-2026-0004 |
Conceptual | $130.6 M | 05/30/2029 | 1,350 MW | 2026-05-08 TEAC |
| Natalie 500-230kV Substation PPL-2026-0029 |
Conceptual | $408 M | 12/30/2029 | 2,000 MW | 2026-09-08 TEAC |
| Elimsport 230kV Lines PPL-2026-0031 |
Conceptual | $158.5 M | 05/30/2029 | 300 MW | 2026-10-06 TEAC |
| MAAC PPL Cluster 2025-W1-558 |
Not printed | $565.4M | 6/1/2030 | Not printed | 2025-11-04 TEAC |
Changes between documents
Where two documents print different values for the same project. A large change in a cost estimate can reflect a need being combined with others into one solution, not only a re-estimate; read both pages.
| What changed | Printed values | Earlier | Later |
|---|---|---|---|
| Substations named | BEAVERTOWN → BEAVERTOWN; MIDDLEBURG; SUNBURY | 2024-10-17 | 2024-11-14 |
| Cost estimate | $196.55 M → $195.55 M | Not reported | Not reported |
| Cost estimate | $195.55 M → $196.55 M | 2026-10-06 | Not reported |
| Cost estimate | $197.55 M → $195.55 M | 2025-05-06 | 2026-10-06 |
| In-service date | 6/1/2026: S3528.1, S3528.6, & S3528.11 6/1/2027: S3528.2, S3528.3, S3528.4, S3528.5, S3528.7, S3528.8, S3528.9, S3528.10 → 06/01/2027 | Not reported | Not reported |
| In-service date | 06/01/2027 → 6/1/2026: S3528.1, S3528.6, & S3528.11 6/1/2027: S3528.2, S3528.3, S3528.4, S3528.5, S3528.7, S3528.8, S3528.9, S3528.10 | 2026-10-06 | Not reported |
| Status | unknown (Development) → conceptual (Conceptual) | 2025-05-06 | 2026-10-06 |
| Substations named | GLEN BROOK; HARWOOD; NESCOPECK; SUNBURY; SUSQUEHANNA; SUSQUEHANNA T10; TOMHICKEN → HARWOOD; NESCOPECK; SUNBURY; SUSQUEHANNA; TOMHICKEN | Not reported | Not reported |
| Substations named | HARWOOD; NESCOPECK; SUNBURY; SUSQUEHANNA; TOMHICKEN → GLEN BROOK; HARWOOD; NESCOPECK; SUNBURY; SUSQUEHANNA; SUSQUEHANNA T10; TOMHICKEN | 2026-10-06 | Not reported |
| Substations named | GLEN BROOK; HARWOOD; NESCOPECK; SUNBURY; SUSQUEHANNA; SUSQUEHANNA T10; TOMHICKEN → HARWOOD; NESCOPECK; SUNBURY; SUSQUEHANNA; TOMHICKEN | 2025-05-06 | 2026-10-06 |
| In-service date | 04/2026 → 05/30/2028 | 2025-04-01 | 2025-05-06 |
| In-service date | 05/2027 → 5/30/2027 | 2025-05-06 | 2025-10-08 |
| In-service date | 5/30/2027 → 05/30/2028 | 2025-10-08 | 2026-10-06 |
| In-service date | 3/2028 → 03/30/2028 | 2025-12-11 | 2026-02-12 |
| Substations named | MAUSDALE → COLUMBIA; MAUSDALE; SUNBURY | 2025-12-11 | 2026-02-12 |
| In-service date | 10/2028 → 05/30/2029 | 2026-03-10 | 2026-05-08 |
| In-service date | 06/2028 → 12/30/2029 | 2026-04-07 | 2026-09-08 |
| In-service date | 06/2028 → 05/30/2029 | 2026-04-07 | 2026-10-06 |
Every mention
| Date | Document | Project | What the document says about it |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-06 | TEAC Item 12 - PPL Supplemental Projects - Presentation p. 6 |
Elimsport 230kV Lines | “Sunbury 230kV Yard
• Add terminal for a new 230kV line in the Sunbury 230kV GIS.” 230kV |
| 2026-10-06 | TEAC Informational Only - PPL Local Plan Submission of the Supplemental Projects for 2026 p. 13 |
Harwood, PA | No role wording |
| 2026-10-06 | TEAC Informational Only - PPL Local Plan Submission of the Supplemental Projects for 2026 p. 25 |
Gordon, PA | “Build out bay #2 in the 230kV GIS with two new breakers” 230kV |
| 2026-10-06 | TEAC Informational Only - PPL Local Plan Submission of the Supplemental Projects for 2026 p. 33 |
Mausdale, PA | No role wording |
| 2026-09-17* | SRRTEP Mid-Atlantic PPL local plan submission for 2026 RTEP p. 13 |
Harwood, PA | No role wording 230kV |
| 2026-09-17* | SRRTEP Mid-Atlantic PPL local plan submission for 2026 RTEP p. 25 |
Gordon, PA | “Build out bay #2 in the 230kV GIS with two new breakers and associated
equipment” 230kV |
| 2026-09-17* | SRRTEP Mid-Atlantic PPL local plan submission for 2026 RTEP p. 33 |
Mausdale, PA | No role wording |
| 2026-09-08 | TEAC Item 07 - PPL Supplemental Projects p. 5 |
Natalie 500-230kV Substation | No role wording 500kV |
| 2026-09-08* | SRRTEP Mid-Atlantic PPL local plan submission for 2024 RTEP p. 31 |
Harwood, PA | No role wording 230kV |
| 2026-09-08* | SRRTEP Mid-Atlantic PPL local plan submission for 2024 RTEP p. 6 |
PPL-2023-0007 | “Install new line terminals at Sunbury and Lock Haven substations to accommodate the new circuit.” 69kV |
| 2026-09-08* | SRRTEP Mid-Atlantic PPL local plan submission for 2025 RTEP p. 3 |
Beavertown, PA | No role wording 69kV |
| 2026-09-08* | SRRTEP Mid-Atlantic PPL local plan submission for 2025 RTEP p. 33 |
Susquehanna, PA | No role wording 230kV |
| 2026-05-08 | TEAC Item 06 - PPL Supplemental Projects p. 14 |
Nescopeck, PA | “Bifurcate Sunbury - Susquehanna 500kV line” 500kV |
| 2026-02-12 | SRRTEP Mid-Atlantic Item 05 - PPL Supplemental Projects p. 18 |
Mausdale, PA | “Sunbury 69kV Substation” 69kV |
| 2025-12-08 | TEAC Item 11 - Reliability Analysis Update p. 28 |
PPL Transmission Zone: Baseline MAAC PPL Cluster | No role wording 500 kV |
| 2025-11-04 | TEAC Item 14 - Reliability Analysis Update p. 54 |
MAAC PPL Cluster | No role wording 500 kV |
| 2025-10-08 | TEAC Informational Only - PPL Local Plan Submission of the Supplemental Projects for 2025 p. 3 |
Beavertown, PA | No role wording 69kV |
| 2025-10-08 | TEAC Informational Only - PPL Local Plan Submission of the Supplemental Projects for 2025 p. 33 |
Susquehanna, PA | No role wording 230kV |
| 2025-10-08 | TEAC Item 09 - PPL Supplemental Projects p. 6 |
Gordon, PA | “Build out bay #2 in the 230kV GIS with two new breakers and associated equipment” 230kV |
| 2025-05-06 | TEAC Item 07 - PPL Supplemental Projects p. 12 |
Harwood, PA | No role wording 230kV |
| 2025-05-06 | TEAC Item 07 - PPL Supplemental Projects p. 16 |
Susquehanna, PA | No role wording 230kV |
| 2024-11-14 | SRRTEP Mid-Atlantic Item 03 - PPL Supplemental Projects p. 7 |
Beavertown, PA | No role wording 69kV |
* A local-plan posting carries no meeting date; the date shown is when pjm.com last modified the file.
Before relying on any of this
- Names are machine-extracted from PDFs by a language model. Every exported name was checked to be printed in the PDF text; names read only from maps or diagrams are excluded.
- An entry is a name within a transmission zone, not a verified physical facility. The same name in two zones is two entries; spelling variants are merged only when they differ by punctuation, case or a generic suffix such as "Substation".
- role is "new" only where a cited document phrase describes the substation as new or describes constructing it, "existing" where a phrase describes work at it, otherwise "unknown".
- Costs, dates, statuses and loads are the documents' own printed values for the most recent document that names the substation. Each one shipped here is printed on its cited page ("verification": "exact" or "on-page"); values that failed that check are withheld and counted in figures_withheld_unverified. None has been reviewed by a person.
- Zone is the transmission owner whose deck presented the project. PJM-SYSTEM marks names from PJM's own reliability decks, which span zones.
- A printed customer load is the amount a document states for a request. It says nothing about the substation's capability.