Tomhicken
Named in 9 PJM planning documents for 5 projects, from May 6, 2025 to October 6, 2026.
Newdescribed as
PPLzone
230 kV, 230kVkV as printed
11mentions
Described as new: “Install a six bay BAAH 230kV switchyard” — source, page 13
Projects naming this substation
Figures are from the most recent document naming each project, as printed. Each links to its page.
| Project | Status as printed | Cost estimate | In-service date | Customer load | As of |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PPL Transmission Zone: Baseline MAAC PPL Cluster b4029.1 |
Not printed | $565.4M | 6/1/2030 | Not printed | 2025-12-08 TEAC |
| Harwood, PA PPL-2024-0003 |
Conceptual | $195.55 M | 06/01/2027 | 1,980 MW | 2026-10-06 TEAC |
| Black Creek, PA PPL-2025-0009 |
Conceptual | $13.5 M | 05/30/2027 | 500 MW | 2026-10-06 TEAC |
| PPL Transmission Zone: Supplemental PPL-2025-0010 · S3818 |
Conceptual | $88.5M | 5/30/2027 | 1000 MW | 2026-05-08 TEAC |
| MAAC PPL Cluster 2025-W1-558 |
Not printed | $565.4M | 6/1/2030 | Not printed | 2025-11-04 TEAC |
Changes between documents
Where two documents print different values for the same project. A large change in a cost estimate can reflect a need being combined with others into one solution, not only a re-estimate; read both pages.
| What changed | Printed values | Earlier | Later |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cost estimate | $196.55 M → $195.55 M | Not reported | Not reported |
| Cost estimate | $195.55 M → $196.55 M | 2026-10-06 | Not reported |
| Cost estimate | $197.55 M → $195.55 M | 2025-05-06 | 2026-10-06 |
| In-service date | 6/1/2026: S3528.1, S3528.6, & S3528.11 6/1/2027: S3528.2, S3528.3, S3528.4, S3528.5, S3528.7, S3528.8, S3528.9, S3528.10 → 06/01/2027 | Not reported | Not reported |
| In-service date | 06/01/2027 → 6/1/2026: S3528.1, S3528.6, & S3528.11 6/1/2027: S3528.2, S3528.3, S3528.4, S3528.5, S3528.7, S3528.8, S3528.9, S3528.10 | 2026-10-06 | Not reported |
| Status | unknown (Development) → conceptual (Conceptual) | 2025-05-06 | 2026-10-06 |
| Substations named | GLEN BROOK; HARWOOD; NESCOPECK; SUNBURY; SUSQUEHANNA; SUSQUEHANNA T10; TOMHICKEN → HARWOOD; NESCOPECK; SUNBURY; SUSQUEHANNA; TOMHICKEN | Not reported | Not reported |
| Substations named | HARWOOD; NESCOPECK; SUNBURY; SUSQUEHANNA; TOMHICKEN → GLEN BROOK; HARWOOD; NESCOPECK; SUNBURY; SUSQUEHANNA; SUSQUEHANNA T10; TOMHICKEN | 2026-10-06 | Not reported |
| Substations named | GLEN BROOK; HARWOOD; NESCOPECK; SUNBURY; SUSQUEHANNA; SUSQUEHANNA T10; TOMHICKEN → HARWOOD; NESCOPECK; SUNBURY; SUSQUEHANNA; TOMHICKEN | 2025-05-06 | 2026-10-06 |
| In-service date | 05/2027 → 05/30/2027 | 2025-05-06 | 2025-06-05 |
| Cost estimate | $95 M → $88.5M | 2025-09-09 | 2026-05-08 |
| Cost estimate prior value printed on the same page |
$95M → $88.5M | 2026-05-08 | 2026-05-08 |
| In-service date | 05/2027 → 05/30/2028 | 2025-05-06 | 2025-09-09 |
| In-service date | 05/30/2028 → 5/30/2027 | 2025-09-09 | 2026-05-08 |
Every mention
| Date | Document | Project | What the document says about it |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-06 | TEAC Informational Only - PPL Local Plan Submission of the Supplemental Projects for 2026 p. 13 |
Harwood, PA | “Install a six bay BAAH 230kV switchyard” 230kV |
| 2026-10-06 | TEAC Informational Only - PPL Local Plan Submission of the Supplemental Projects for 2026 p. 21 |
Black Creek, PA | “Expand Tomhicken 230kV Yard and install three new line terminals” 230kV |
| 2026-09-17* | SRRTEP Mid-Atlantic PPL local plan submission for 2026 RTEP p. 13 |
Harwood, PA | “Install a six bay BAAH 230kV switchyard” 230kV |
| 2026-09-17* | SRRTEP Mid-Atlantic PPL local plan submission for 2026 RTEP p. 21 |
Black Creek, PA | “Expand Tomhicken 230kV Yard and
install three new line terminals” 230kV |
| 2026-09-08* | SRRTEP Mid-Atlantic PPL local plan submission for 2024 RTEP p. 31 |
Harwood, PA | “Install a six bay BAAH 230kV switchyard with a 125MVAR Capacitor bank” 230kV |
| 2026-05-08 | TEAC Item 06 - PPL Supplemental Projects p. 4 |
PPL Transmission Zone: Supplemental | “from Tomhicken 230kV switchyard to the customer facility” 230kV |
| 2025-12-08 | TEAC Item 11 - Reliability Analysis Update p. 28 |
PPL Transmission Zone: Baseline MAAC PPL Cluster | No role wording 230 kV |
| 2025-11-04 | TEAC Item 14 - Reliability Analysis Update p. 54 |
MAAC PPL Cluster | No role wording 230 kV |
| 2025-09-09 | TEAC Item 09 - PPL Supplemental Projects p. 8 |
PPL Transmission Zone: Supplemental | “to the Tomhicken 230kV switchyard” 230kV |
| 2025-06-05 | TEAC Item 05 - PPL Supplemental Projects p. 10 |
Black Creek, PA | “Expand Tomhicken 230kV Yard and install three new line terminals” 230kV |
| 2025-05-06 | TEAC Item 07 - PPL Supplemental Projects p. 12 |
Harwood, PA | “Install a six bay BAAH 230kV switchyard” 230kV |
* A local-plan posting carries no meeting date; the date shown is when pjm.com last modified the file.
Before relying on any of this
- Names are machine-extracted from PDFs by a language model. Every exported name was checked to be printed in the PDF text; names read only from maps or diagrams are excluded.
- An entry is a name within a transmission zone, not a verified physical facility. The same name in two zones is two entries; spelling variants are merged only when they differ by punctuation, case or a generic suffix such as "Substation".
- role is "new" only where a cited document phrase describes the substation as new or describes constructing it, "existing" where a phrase describes work at it, otherwise "unknown".
- Costs, dates, statuses and loads are the documents' own printed values for the most recent document that names the substation. Each one shipped here is printed on its cited page ("verification": "exact" or "on-page"); values that failed that check are withheld and counted in figures_withheld_unverified. None has been reviewed by a person.
- Zone is the transmission owner whose deck presented the project. PJM-SYSTEM marks names from PJM's own reliability decks, which span zones.
- A printed customer load is the amount a document states for a request. It says nothing about the substation's capability.