Nokesville
Named in 9 PJM planning documents for 7 projects, from October 8, 2024 to October 6, 2026.
Existingdescribed as
DOMzone
230 kV, 230kVkV as printed
13mentions
Also printed as: Nokesville Substation
Projects naming this substation
Figures are from the most recent document naming each project, as printed. Each links to its page.
| Project | Status as printed | Cost estimate | In-service date | Customer load | As of |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nokesville – Hornbaker Bristow New 230kV Line b4000.322 – b4000.324 |
Not printed | $18.14M | 6/1/2029 | Not printed | 2026-10-06 TEAC |
| Dominion Transmission Zone: Baseline New 765/500/230kV Yeat Substation B4000.355 – B4000.359 |
Not printed | $1,109.89M | 6/1/2029 | Not printed | 2026-05-08 TEAC |
| Nokesville - Add 2nd TX - DEV DOM-2021-0018 · s2620 |
Engineering | $0.75 M | 11/01/2022 | 63.3 MW | 2024-10-08 TEAC |
| Do No Harm (DNH) Analysis DOM-2022-0045-DNH · s3035.2 |
Conceptual | $139.0M | 12/31/2027 | Not printed | 2024-10-08 TEAC |
| Do No Harm (DNH) Analysis DOM-2022-0046-DNH & DOM-2022-0047-DNH Update |
Conceptual | $37.5M | 12/31/2027 | Not printed | 2026-10-06 TEAC |
| Bristow 230kV Delivery – NOVEC DOM-2024-0063 · s3699 |
Engineering | $14.0M | 04/30/2028 | 213.0 MW | 2025-10-08 TEAC |
| Dominion Transmission Zone: Supplemental
Do No Harm Analysis DOM-2024-0063-DNH |
Conceptual | $24.0M | 06/01/2029 | Not printed | 2025-05-06 TEAC |
Changes between documents
Where two documents print different values for the same project. A large change in a cost estimate can reflect a need being combined with others into one solution, not only a re-estimate; read both pages.
| What changed | Printed values | Earlier | Later |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cost estimate prior value printed on the same page |
$1,055.3 M → $1,109.89M | 2025-01-07 | 2025-01-07 |
| Cost estimate prior value printed on the same page |
$1,109.89M → $978.76 M | 2026-08-04 | 2026-08-04 |
| Cost estimate | $1,109.89M → $978.76 M | 2026-05-08 | 2026-08-04 |
| Substations named | BRISTERS; ELK RUN; JOSHUA FALLS; MEADOWBROOK; VINT HILL; YEAT → BRISTERS; CULPEPER YEAT; CUNNINGHAM; ELK RUN; ELMONT; JOSHUA FALLS; KRAKEN; MEADOWBROOK; MIDLOTHIAN; MORRISVILLE; MOSBY; NOKESVILLE; NORTH ANNA; POSSUM PT; SPOTSYLVANIA; VINT HILL; VONTAY; WISHING STAR; YEAT | 2025-01-07 | 2026-04-07 |
| Substations named | BRISTERS; CULPEPER YEAT; CUNNINGHAM; ELK RUN; ELMONT; JOSHUA FALLS; KRAKEN; MEADOWBROOK; MIDLOTHIAN; MORRISVILLE; MOSBY; NOKESVILLE; NORTH ANNA; POSSUM PT; SPOTSYLVANIA; VINT HILL; VONTAY; WISHING STAR; YEAT → ANDERSON BRANCH; BRISTERS; CULPEPER YEAT; ELK RUN; ELMONT; JOSHUA FALLS; KRAKEN; MEADOWBROOK; MORRISVILLE; MOSBY; NOKESVILLE; POSSUM PT; SPOTSYLVANIA; VINT HILL; VONTAY; WISHING STAR; YEAT | 2026-04-07 | 2026-05-08 |
| Substations named | ANDERSON BRANCH; BRISTERS; CULPEPER YEAT; ELK RUN; ELMONT; JOSHUA FALLS; KRAKEN; MEADOWBROOK; MORRISVILLE; MOSBY; NOKESVILLE; POSSUM PT; SPOTSYLVANIA; VINT HILL; VONTAY; WISHING STAR; YEAT → BRISTERS; CLOVERDALE; ELK RUN; JOSHUA FALLS; MEADOWBROOK; VINT HILL; YEAT | 2026-05-08 | 2026-08-04 |
| Substations named | BRISTERS; HORNBAKER; NOKESVILLE; VINT HILL → BRICKYARD; BRISTERS; CLIFTON; DAWKINS BRANCH; GAINESVILLE; HORNBAKER; NOKESVILLE; RAILROAD; VINT HILL | 2024-10-08 | Not reported |
| Cost estimate | $37.5M → $23.0M | 2026-10-06 | Not reported |
| Cost estimate prior value printed on the same page |
$115.0M → $114.0M | 2024-10-08 | 2024-10-08 |
| Cost estimate | $114.0M → $37.5M | 2024-10-08 | 2026-10-06 |
| Cost estimate prior value printed on the same page |
$23 → $37.5M | 2026-10-06 | 2026-10-06 |
| Substations named | ANDERSON BRANCH; BRISTERS; NOKESVILLE → BRISTERS; LIBERTY; LOUDOUN; MEADOWBROOK; MORRISVILLE; NOKESVILLE; REMINGTON CT; ROLLINS FORD; VINT HILL; WHEELER; WISHING STAR | 2026-10-06 | Not reported |
| Substations named | BRISTERS; LIBERTY; LOUDOUN; MEADOWBROOK; MORRISVILLE; NOKESVILLE; REMINGTON CT; ROLLINS FORD; VINT HILL; WHEELER; WISHING STAR → ANDERSON BRANCH; BRISTERS; NOKESVILLE | 2024-10-08 | 2026-10-06 |
| Substations named | BRICKYARD; CLIFTON; DEVLIN; GAINESVILLE; NOKESVILLE; RAILROAD; ROLLINS FORD; VINT HILL; WHEELER → DEVLIN; GAINESVILLE; VINT HILL; WHEELER | 2025-05-06 | 2025-10-08 |
Every mention
| Date | Document | Project | What the document says about it |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-06 | TEAC Item 14 - DOM Supplemental Projects - Presentation p. 3 |
Do No Harm (DNH) Analysis | No role wording |
| 2026-10-06 | TEAC Item 16 - Reliability Analysis Update - Presentation p. 11 |
Nokesville – Hornbaker Bristow New 230kV Line | “upgrades at Nokesville and Bristow 230kV substations” 230kV |
| 2026-09-08* | SRRTEP Southern Dominion p. 10 |
Nokesville - Add 2nd TX - DEV | “add a 2 nddistribution transformer at Nokesville Substation” |
| 2026-09-08* | SRRTEP Southern Dominion p. 61 |
Do No Harm (DNH) Analysis | “at the existing Nokesville Substation” 230 kV |
| 2026-09-08* | SRRTEP Southern Dominion p. 81 |
Do No Harm (DNH) Analysis | No role wording |
| 2026-05-08 | TEAC Item 10 - Reliability Analysis Update p. 18 |
Dominion Transmission Zone: Baseline New 765/500/230kV Yeat Substation | No role wording |
| 2026-04-07 | TEAC Item 11 - Reliability Analysis Update p. 14 |
Dominion Transmission Zone: Baseline New 765/500/230kV Yeat Substation | No role wording 230kV |
| 2025-10-08 | TEAC Informational Only - Dominion Local Plan Submission of the Supplemental Projects 2025 p. 15 |
Bristow 230kV Delivery – NOVEC | “between Nokesville and Hornbaker Substations” 230 kV |
| 2025-05-06 | TEAC Item 09 - DOM Supplemental Projects p. 13 |
Dominion Transmission Zone: Supplemental Do No Harm Analysis | No role wording |
| 2024-12-03 | TEAC Item 10 - Dominion Supplemental Projects p. 13 |
Bristow 230kV Delivery – NOVEC | “the termination of the 230 kV line between Nokesville and Hornbaker Substations (DOM-2022-0045-DNH) will be reconfigured” 230 kV |
| 2024-10-08 | TEAC Informational Only - DOM Local Plan submission of supplemental projects 2024 p. 10 |
Nokesville - Add 2nd TX - DEV | “add a 2nddistribution transformer at Nokesville Substation” |
| 2024-10-08 | TEAC Informational Only - DOM Local Plan submission of supplemental projects 2024 p. 61 |
Do No Harm (DNH) Analysis | “Install a 230 kV ring bus and associated 230 kV equipment (breakers, switches, leads) at the existing Nokesville Substation.” 230 kV |
| 2024-10-08 | TEAC Informational Only - DOM Local Plan submission of supplemental projects 2024 p. 84 |
Do No Harm (DNH) Analysis | “terminations of line #2101 (Bristers – Vint Hill) into Nokesville Substation” 230 kV |
* A local-plan posting carries no meeting date; the date shown is when pjm.com last modified the file.
Before relying on any of this
- Names are machine-extracted from PDFs by a language model. Every exported name was checked to be printed in the PDF text; names read only from maps or diagrams are excluded.
- An entry is a name within a transmission zone, not a verified physical facility. The same name in two zones is two entries; spelling variants are merged only when they differ by punctuation, case or a generic suffix such as "Substation".
- role is "new" only where a cited document phrase describes the substation as new or describes constructing it, "existing" where a phrase describes work at it, otherwise "unknown".
- Costs, dates, statuses and loads are the documents' own printed values for the most recent document that names the substation. Each one shipped here is printed on its cited page ("verification": "exact" or "on-page"); values that failed that check are withheld and counted in figures_withheld_unverified. None has been reviewed by a person.
- Zone is the transmission owner whose deck presented the project. PJM-SYSTEM marks names from PJM's own reliability decks, which span zones.
- A printed customer load is the amount a document states for a request. It says nothing about the substation's capability.