Star
Named in 11 PJM planning documents for 7 projects, from October 8, 2024 to August 14, 2026.
Existingdescribed as
ATSIzone
138 kV, 345 kV, 69 kVkV as printed
13mentions
Also printed as: Star Substation
Projects naming this substation
Figures are from the most recent document naming each project, as printed. Each links to its page.
| Project | Status as printed | Cost estimate | In-service date | Customer load | As of |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Star-Seville (Rittman) 69 kV Line – s1802 Scope Change s1802 |
Engineering | $36.5 M | 12/31/2027 | Not printed | 2025-07-18 SRRTEP Western |
| Medina/Seville Area ATSI-2021-021 |
Conceptual | Not printed | Not printed | Not printed | 2026-07-17 SRRTEP Western |
| ATSI Transmission Zone M-3 Process
Gilchrist – Star 69 kV Line ATSI-2022-028 (s3359.1) · s3359.1 |
Not printed | $71.7 M | 12/1/2027 | Not printed | 2025-10-08 TEAC |
| Tusc Substation ATSI-2023-011 |
Conceptual | $16.72M | 12/31/2027 | Not printed | 2025-09-19 SRRTEP Western |
| Akron/Summit County Area ATSI-2023-024 |
Conceptual | $36.49M | 06/01/2029 | Not printed | 2026-03-19 SRRTEP Western |
| Sammis – Star 345 kV Line ATSI-2024-027 · s3717.1 |
Not printed | $343.70M | 5/30/2031 | Not printed | 2025-10-08 TEAC |
| Star Substation ATSI-2026-057 |
Not printed | Not printed | Not printed | Not printed | 2026-08-14 SRRTEP Western |
Changes between documents
Where two documents print different values for the same project. A large change in a cost estimate can reflect a need being combined with others into one solution, not only a re-estimate; read both pages.
| What changed | Printed values | Earlier | Later |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cost estimate prior value printed on the same page |
$18.6 M → $36.5 M | 2025-07-18 | 2025-07-18 |
| Substations named | ABBE; MEDINA; NORTH MEDINA; RYAN; SEVILLE; STAR; WEST AKRON; WEST MEDINA → MEDINA; RYAN; SEVILLE; WEST MEDINA | 2026-07-17 | 2026-10-06 |
| Cost estimate | $71.7 M → $62.5 M | 2025-10-08 | Not reported |
| Cost estimate | $62.5 M → $71.7 M | Not reported | Not reported |
| Cost estimate prior value printed on the same page |
$97.7 M → $71.7 M | Not reported | Not reported |
| Cost estimate | $62.5 M → $71.7 M | 2024-10-08 | 2024-10-18 |
| Cost estimate prior value printed on the same page |
$97.7 M → $71.7 M | 2024-10-18 | 2024-10-18 |
| Cost estimate prior value printed on the same page |
$97.7 M → $71.7 M | 2025-10-08 | 2025-10-08 |
| Substations named | DALE; GILCHRIST; MARTIN; MCKNIGHTS; PORTAGE LAKES; STAR → DALE; GILCHRIST; MARTIN; STAR | 2024-10-18 | 2025-10-08 |
| Substations named | FIRESTONE; PINE; SOUTH AKRON; STAR; TUSC; URBAN; WADSWORTH; WEST AKRON → TUSC | 2025-09-19 | 2026-10-06 |
| Substations named | CLAYBEN; GILCHRIST; LAKEMORE; MCKNIGHTS; NORTH CLAYBEN; ROCHLING AUTO; SOUTH AKRON; STAR → CLAYBEN; LAKEMORE; MCKNIGHTS; NORTH CLAYBEN | 2026-03-19 | 2026-10-06 |
Every mention
| Date | Document | Project | What the document says about it |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-09-08* | SRRTEP Western ATSI local plan submission of the supplemental projects for 2024 RTEP p. 46 |
ATSI Transmission Zone M-3 Process Gilchrist – Star 69 kV Line | No role wording 69 kV |
| 2026-09-08* | SRRTEP Western ATSI local plan submission of the supplemental projects for 2025 RTEP p. 17 |
ATSI Transmission Zone M-3 Process Gilchrist – Star 69 kV Line | No role wording 69 kV |
| 2026-09-08* | SRRTEP Western ATSI local plan submission of the supplemental projects for 2025 RTEP p. 48 |
Sammis – Star 345 kV Line | “At Sammis and Star substations:
▪ Replace line relaying” 345 kV |
| 2026-08-14 | SRRTEP Western Item 02 - ATSI Supplemental Projects p. 5 |
Star Substation | “The Star Substation control house is congested.” |
| 2026-07-17 | SRRTEP Western Item 03 - ATSI Supplemental Projects p. 13 |
Medina/Seville Area | No role wording 69 kV |
| 2026-03-19 | SRRTEP Western Item 02 - ATSI Supplemental Project p. 15 |
Akron/Summit County Area | No role wording 69 kV |
| 2025-10-08 | TEAC Informational Only - ATSI Local Plan Submission of the Supplemental Projects for 2025 p. 17 |
ATSI Transmission Zone M-3 Process Gilchrist – Star 69 kV Line | No role wording 69 kV |
| 2025-10-08 | TEAC Informational Only - ATSI Local Plan Submission of the Supplemental Projects for 2025 p. 48 |
Sammis – Star 345 kV Line | “At Sammis and Star substations:
§ Replace line relaying” 345 kV |
| 2025-09-19 | SRRTEP Western Item 03 - ATSI Supplemental Projects p. 7 |
Tusc Substation | No role wording 138 kV |
| 2025-07-18 | SRRTEP Western Item 03 - ATSI Supplemental Projects p. 12 |
Star-Seville (Rittman) 69 kV Line – s1802 Scope Change | “Star 69 kV Substation – Terminal equipment to be replaced” 69 kV |
| 2025-07-08 | TEAC Item 03 - ATSI Supplemental Projects p. 10 |
Sammis – Star 345 kV Line | “At Sammis and Star substations: § Replace line relaying” |
| 2024-10-18 | SRRTEP Western Item 04 - ATSI Supplemental Projects p. 8 |
ATSI Transmission Zone M-3 Process Gilchrist – Star 69 kV Line | No role wording 69 kV |
| 2024-10-08 | TEAC Informational Only - ATSI Local Plan submission of supplemental project 2024 p. 47 |
ATSI Transmission Zone M-3 Process Gilchrist – Star 69 kV Line | No role wording 69 kV |
* A local-plan posting carries no meeting date; the date shown is when pjm.com last modified the file.
Before relying on any of this
- Names are machine-extracted from PDFs by a language model. Every exported name was checked to be printed in the PDF text; names read only from maps or diagrams are excluded.
- An entry is a name within a transmission zone, not a verified physical facility. The same name in two zones is two entries; spelling variants are merged only when they differ by punctuation, case or a generic suffix such as "Substation".
- role is "new" only where a cited document phrase describes the substation as new or describes constructing it, "existing" where a phrase describes work at it, otherwise "unknown".
- Costs, dates, statuses and loads are the documents' own printed values for the most recent document that names the substation. Each one shipped here is printed on its cited page ("verification": "exact" or "on-page"); values that failed that check are withheld and counted in figures_withheld_unverified. None has been reviewed by a person.
- Zone is the transmission owner whose deck presented the project. PJM-SYSTEM marks names from PJM's own reliability decks, which span zones.
- A printed customer load is the amount a document states for a request. It says nothing about the substation's capability.