South Reading Substation
Named in 6 PJM planning documents for 7 projects, from October 8, 2024 to October 6, 2026.
Also printed as: South Reading
PJM interconnection queue
A PJM queue substation page has the same name: South Reading (PA) — 3 queue requests filed, 0 active.
Same name and state (weaker). Matched on name and state: the utility that presented this substation operates in one state, and every queue filing at a substation of the same name is in that state. No transmission owner is recorded on those filings, so this is a weaker match than one on owner. Not verified as the same facility.
Projects naming this substation
Figures are from the most recent document naming each project, as printed. Each links to its page.
| Project | Status as printed | Cost estimate | In-service date | Customer load | As of |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Carpenter Technology – South Reading 69 kV Line ME-2019-043 · s3288.1 |
Not printed | $15.2M | 05/29/2026 | Not printed | 2024-10-08 TEAC |
| Birdsboro – Birdsboro Extrusions 69 kV Line ME-2023-011 · s3289.1 |
Not printed | $2.1M | 12/10/2025 | Not printed | 2024-10-08 TEAC |
| South Reading Substation ME-2023-021 · s3331.1 |
Not printed | $9.85M | 6/1/2025 | Not printed | 2024-10-08 TEAC |
| South Reading 230-69 kV Transformer #7 ME-2023-023 · s3332.1 |
Not printed | $6.10 M | 12/31/2026 | Not printed | 2024-10-08 TEAC |
| South Reading 230-69 kV Transformer #8 ME-2023-024 · s3333.1 |
Not printed | $6.10 M | 12/31/2026 | Not printed | 2024-10-08 TEAC |
| South Reading Substation ME-2023-025 · s3742.1 |
Not printed | $20.4M | 11/15/2027 | Not printed | 2026-10-06 TEAC |
| South Reading - West Reading 69 kV Line ME-2024-002 · s3975.1 |
Not printed | $17.10M | 12/29/2028 | Not printed | 2026-10-06 TEAC |
Changes between documents
Where two documents print different values for the same project. A large change in a cost estimate can reflect a need being combined with others into one solution, not only a re-estimate; read both pages.
| What changed | Printed values | Earlier | Later |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cost estimate | $6.10 M → $8.80M | 2024-10-08 | Not reported |
| In-service date | 12/31/2026 → 6/1/2025 | 2024-10-08 | Not reported |
Every mention
| Date | Document | Project | What the document says about it |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-07* | SRRTEP Mid-Atlantic Met-Ed local plan submission for 2026 RTEP p. 15 |
South Reading - West Reading 69 kV Line | “South Reading: Replace relaying for 69 kV Circuit Breaker 2642.” |
| 2026-10-07* | SRRTEP Mid-Atlantic Met-Ed local plan submission for 2026 RTEP p. 5 |
South Reading Substation | “At South Reading Substation: ▪ Install a new No. 9 230-69 kV 224 MVA transformer” |
| 2026-10-06 | TEAC Informational Only - MetEd Local Plan Submission of Supplemental Projects for 2026 p. 14 |
South Reading - West Reading 69 kV Line | “South Reading: Replace relaying for 69 kV Circuit Breaker 2642” |
| 2026-10-06 | TEAC Informational Only - MetEd Local Plan Submission of Supplemental Projects for 2026 p. 4 |
South Reading Substation | “At South Reading Substation:” |
| 2026-09-08* | SRRTEP Mid-Atlantic Met-Ed local plan submission for 2024 RTEP p. 13 |
Carpenter Technology – South Reading 69 kV Line | “At South Reading Substation:
Replace 69 kV breaker, line-side disconnect and line relaying” 69 kV |
| 2026-09-08* | SRRTEP Mid-Atlantic Met-Ed local plan submission for 2024 RTEP p. 16 |
Birdsboro – Birdsboro Extrusions 69 kV Line | “At South Reading Substation: Adjust relay settings” |
| 2026-09-08* | SRRTEP Mid-Atlantic Met-Ed local plan submission for 2024 RTEP p. 19 |
South Reading Substation | “Convert South Reading 230 kV into a ten (10) breaker Double Breaker – Double Bus configuration.” 230 kV |
| 2026-09-08* | SRRTEP Mid-Atlantic Met-Ed local plan submission for 2024 RTEP p. 21 |
South Reading 230-69 kV Transformer #7 | “Replace the existing #7 bank 230/69 kV with a 230/69 kV, 135/180/224 MVA
transformer” 230-69 kV |
| 2026-09-08* | SRRTEP Mid-Atlantic Met-Ed local plan submission for 2024 RTEP p. 23 |
South Reading 230-69 kV Transformer #8 | “Replace the existing South Reading 230-69 kV #8 Transformer” 230-69 kV |
| 2026-03-18 | SRRTEP Mid-Atlantic Item 07 - MetEd Supplemental Projects p. 6 |
South Reading - West Reading 69 kV Line | “South Reading: Replace relaying for 69 kV Circuit Breaker 2642.” 69 kV |
| 2025-08-05 | TEAC Item 05 - MetEd Supplemental Projects p. 3 |
South Reading Substation | “At South Reading Substation:
§ Install a new No. 9 230-69 kV 224 MVA transformer” 230 – 69 kV |
| 2024-10-08 | TEAC Informational Only - METED Local Plan submission of supplemental project 2024 p. 14 |
Carpenter Technology – South Reading 69 kV Line | “At South Reading Substation:
§ Replace 69 kV breaker” 69 kV |
| 2024-10-08 | TEAC Informational Only - METED Local Plan submission of supplemental project 2024 p. 16 |
Birdsboro – Birdsboro Extrusions 69 kV Line | “At South Reading Substation: § Adjust relay settings” |
| 2024-10-08 | TEAC Informational Only - METED Local Plan submission of supplemental project 2024 p. 19 |
South Reading Substation | “Convert South Reading 230 kV into a ten (10) breaker Double Breaker – Double Bus configuration.” 230 kV |
| 2024-10-08 | TEAC Informational Only - METED Local Plan submission of supplemental project 2024 p. 21 |
South Reading 230-69 kV Transformer #7 | “Replace the existing #7 bank 230/69 kV with a 230/69 kV, 135/180/224 MVA
transformer” 230-69 kV |
| 2024-10-08 | TEAC Informational Only - METED Local Plan submission of supplemental project 2024 p. 23 |
South Reading 230-69 kV Transformer #8 | “Replace the existing #8 bank 230/69 kV with a 230/69 kV, 135/180/224 MVA
transformer” 230-69 kV |
* A local-plan posting carries no meeting date; the date shown is when pjm.com last modified the file.
Before relying on any of this
- Names are machine-extracted from PDFs by a language model. Every exported name was checked to be printed in the PDF text; names read only from maps or diagrams are excluded.
- An entry is a name within a transmission zone, not a verified physical facility. The same name in two zones is two entries; spelling variants are merged only when they differ by punctuation, case or a generic suffix such as "Substation".
- role is "new" only where a cited document phrase describes the substation as new or describes constructing it, "existing" where a phrase describes work at it, otherwise "unknown".
- Costs, dates, statuses and loads are the documents' own printed values for the most recent document that names the substation. Each one shipped here is printed on its cited page ("verification": "exact" or "on-page"); values that failed that check are withheld and counted in figures_withheld_unverified. None has been reviewed by a person.
- Zone is the transmission owner whose deck presented the project. PJM-SYSTEM marks names from PJM's own reliability decks, which span zones.
- A printed customer load is the amount a document states for a request. It says nothing about the substation's capability.