Quantum 400
Named in 6 PJM planning documents for 3 projects, from October 8, 2024 to September 8, 2026.
Newdescribed as
APSzone
230 kVkV as printed
7mentions
Described as new: “Build a six breaker, three bay (expandable to four bays), breaker-and-a-half substation (Quantum 400)” — source, page 17
Projects naming this substation
Figures are from the most recent document naming each project, as printed. Each links to its page.
| Project | Status as printed | Cost estimate | In-service date | Customer load | As of |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Doubs – Sage 230 kV New Customer APS-2023-029 · s3150.2 |
Not printed | $23.2M | 12/31/2025 | approximately 300 MW | 2025-10-08 TEAC |
| New Customer APS-2023-029 (s3150.1, s3150.2) · s3150.2 |
Not printed | $23.2M | 12/31/2025 | approximately 300 MW | 2026-09-08* SRRTEP Western |
| New Customer Connection APS-2026-041 |
Conceptual | $54.99M | 11/08/2032 | 1000 MW | 2026-09-08 TEAC |
Changes between documents
Where two documents print different values for the same project. A large change in a cost estimate can reflect a need being combined with others into one solution, not only a re-estimate; read both pages.
| What changed | Printed values | Earlier | Later |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cost estimate | $23.2M → $20.8M | 2025-10-08 | Not reported |
| Cost estimate | $20.8M → $8M | Not reported | Not reported |
| Cost estimate prior value printed on the same page |
$20.8M → 23.2M | 2025-01-07 | 2025-01-07 |
| Cost estimate | $20.8M → 23.2M | 2024-10-08 | 2025-01-07 |
| In-service date | 12/31/2025 → 09/01/2025 | 2025-10-08 | Not reported |
| In-service date | 09/01/2025 → 12/31/2027 | Not reported | Not reported |
| In-service date | 09/01/2025 → 12/31/2025 | 2024-10-08 | 2025-01-07 |
| Substations named | DOUBS; LIME KILN; QUANTUM 400; SAGE → DOUBS; QUANTUM 400; SAGE | Not reported | Not reported |
| In-service date | 12/31/2032 → 11/08/2032 | 2026-07-07 | 2026-09-08 |
Every mention
| Date | Document | Project | What the document says about it |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-09-08 | TEAC Item 05 - APS Supplemental Projects p. 9 |
New Customer Connection | No role wording 230 kV |
| 2026-09-08* | SRRTEP Western APS local plan submission of the supplemental projects for 2024 RTEP p. 7 |
Doubs – Sage 230 kV New Customer | “Build a six breaker, two bay (expandable to four bays), breaker-and-a-half substation (Quantum 400)” 230 kV |
| 2026-09-08* | SRRTEP Western APS local plan submission of the supplemental projects for 2025 RTEP p. 17 |
New Customer | “Build a six breaker, three bay (expandable to four bays), breaker-and-a-half
substation (Quantum 400)” 230 kV |
| 2026-09-08* | SRRTEP Western APS local plan submission of the supplemental projects for 2025 RTEP p. 18 |
Doubs – Sage 230 kV New Customer | “Expand Quantum 400 station to a ten breaker” 230 kV |
| 2025-10-08 | TEAC Informational Only - APS Local Plan Submission of the Supplemental Projects for 2025 p. 17 |
Doubs – Sage 230 kV New Customer | “Build a six breaker, three bay (expandable to four bays), breaker-and-a-half substation (Quantum 400)” 230 kV |
| 2025-01-07 | TEAC Item 05 - APS Supplemental Project p. 7 |
Doubs – Sage 230 kV New Customer | “Build a six breaker, two three bay (expandable to four bays), breaker-and-a-half
substation (Quantum 400)” 230 kV |
| 2024-10-08 | TEAC Informational Only - APS Local Plan submission of supplemental project 2024 p. 7 |
Doubs – Sage 230 kV New Customer | “Build a six breaker, two bay (expandable to four bays), breaker-and-a-half
substation (Quantum 400)” 230 kV |
* A local-plan posting carries no meeting date; the date shown is when pjm.com last modified the file.
Before relying on any of this
- Names are machine-extracted from PDFs by a language model. Every exported name was checked to be printed in the PDF text; names read only from maps or diagrams are excluded.
- An entry is a name within a transmission zone, not a verified physical facility. The same name in two zones is two entries; spelling variants are merged only when they differ by punctuation, case or a generic suffix such as "Substation".
- role is "new" only where a cited document phrase describes the substation as new or describes constructing it, "existing" where a phrase describes work at it, otherwise "unknown".
- Costs, dates, statuses and loads are the documents' own printed values for the most recent document that names the substation. Each one shipped here is printed on its cited page ("verification": "exact" or "on-page"); values that failed that check are withheld and counted in figures_withheld_unverified. None has been reviewed by a person.
- Zone is the transmission owner whose deck presented the project. PJM-SYSTEM marks names from PJM's own reliability decks, which span zones.
- A printed customer load is the amount a document states for a request. It says nothing about the substation's capability.